Once the forms are complete our fully qualified staff have a duty under the Housing Act 2004 to take action in respect of Category 1 hazards and we may take action in respect of Category 2 hazards.  

Hazards include:

  • Damp & Mould
  • Uncombusted Fuel Gas
  • Food Safety
  • Electrical Hazards
  • Excess Cold
  • Volatile Organic Compounds
  • Personal Hygiene, Sanitation & Drainage
  • Fire
  • Excess Heat
  • Crowding & Space
  • Water supply
  • Hot surfaces
  • Asbestos and MMF
  • Entry by Intruders
  • Falls associated with baths/showers
  • Collision & Entrapment
  • Biocides
  • Lighting
  • Falls on the level
  • Explosions
  • Fuel combustion products
  • Noise
  • Falls associated with steps & stairs
  • Position & Operability of amenities
  • Lead
  • Domestic Hygiene, Pests & Refuse
  • Falls between levels
  • Structural collapse
  • Radiation

The housing health & safety rating system (HHSRS) is the system used when assessing any property used as living accommodation, the system allows inspecting officers to evaluate the risk posed to the occupiers of the dwelling by one or more of 29 separate hazards.

Having identified the hazard, the inspector can then calculate the seriousness of the hazard-the likelihood of anything happening as a result of being exposed to the hazard and the likely outcome of that exposure. From this calculation the seriousness of the hazard is placed in a priority band with the highest being band A and the lowest being band J. A hazard falling into bands A to C are placed in Category 1 and the remainder in Category 2.